Restart A Heart Day

It’s time to get hands on for Restart a Heart Day.

In light of COVID-19, the steps you should take when performing CPR have changed - but the need to perform CPR has not. 

Out of hospital cardiac arrests are still happening across the UK, and by learning and performing CPR, you could be the difference between life and death for a loved one at home, a colleague at work, or a stranger in the street.

Restart a Heart 2021 will see some in-person events resume in the UK. Digital learning will still play a key role in ensuring that everyone has a chance to learn CPR and that those having a sudden cardiac arrest have their best chance of surviving.  

Whether you’ve learnt CPR before, or this is your first time, this is an opportunity to learn how CPR guidance has changed during COVID-19 and gain the skills and confidence to help if someone collapses and stops breathing normally. First, watch this short video that explains the steps you should take if you see someone in cardiac arrest:

Here’s how you can get involved:

How to learn CPR

Lifesaver

Resuscitation Council UK’s game-in-a-film puts users at the heart of the action as they learn CPR and defibrillation skills through decision making.

Animation: CPR during COVID-19

RCUK’s animation demonstrates what to do when someone collapses and stops breathing normally at a time of increased risk of infection.

St John Ambulance's First Aid App

Download St John Ambulance’s free mobile phone app to have life-saving knowledge - including how to perform CPR - at your fingertips.

Makaton resources and more from Yorkshire Ambulance Service

Yorkshire Ambulance Service have a range of learning and teaching materials on their website, including CPR resources in Makaton.

white
full
How to teach CPR

Teaching your Secondary School Pupils CPR

Resuscitation Council UK’s lesson plan will help you ensure your students have the confidence and skill to identify a cardiac arrest and attempt to save a life with skills in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and defibrillation.

First Aid Champions

First Aid Champions, from British Red Cross, is a new first aid teaching site for learners aged 5-18. First aid education is now on the RSE and health curriculum in England, and First Aid Champions can be used by all schools in the UK to teach the skills children and young people need to save a life.

Lesson Plans for Schoolchildren

St John Ambulance’s free resources and lesson plans have been developed to support teaching first aid as part of health education. The resources are organised in teaching pathways for Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3, and Key Stage 4, and outline a recommended order for teaching the different first aid topics to pupils.

BHF resources to build a Nation of Lifesavers

If you’re planning lifesaving training for your staff, pupils or members of your local community, you’ll find updated advice, training videos and certificates on the BHF website showing you how to teach and learn CPR skills safely using the hands-only approach.

white
full

Show your support

Let your friends and family know you’re supporting Restart a Heart by using the hashtag #RestartAHeart on social media. A Supporters Pack is available with everything you need to know about talking about the Restart a Heart campaign. 

Events

Ambulance services across the UK are holding events both in-person and online (including livestreams and training sessions held via video conferencing apps.)

Independent events are welcomed, and please ensure that any face-to-face training events adhere to local and national guidance on social distancing. Any events that do not adhere to Government guidance cannot operate under the Restart a Heart banner. If you are planning to hold a small, independent event in line with Government guidance, please register your event through our short survey.

To find out what your local ambulance service is doing for Restart a Heart day, click ‘Ambulance Contacts’ below.

Regional contacts

East Midlands Ambulance Service

James Hornby, james.hornby@emas.nhs.uk

Michael Barnett-Connolly, michael.barnett-connolly@emas.nhs.uk

Zoe Davies, zoe.davies@emas.nhs.uk

East of England Ambulance Service

Lorna Hayes, lorna.hayes@eastamb.nhs.uk

Guernsey - St John Ambulance Service

Jim Cathcart, jim.cathcart@stjohn.gg

Isle of Wight Ambulance Service

Louise Walker, louise.walker28@nhs.net

Jersey Ambulance Service

Kerrie Mauger-Dorrington​​, k.maugerdorrington@health.gov.je

London Ambulance Service

Chris Hartley-Sharpe, chris.hartley-sharpe@lond-amb.nhs.uk

Tracy Castle, tracy.castle@lond-amb.nhs.uk

Northern Ireland Ambulance Service

Stephanie Leckey, stephanie.leckey@nias.hscni.net

Jacqueline O'Neill, jacqueline.o'neill@nias.hscni.net

North East Ambulance Service

Alex Mason, alexandra.mason@neas.nhs.uk

North West Ambulance Service

Mark Evans, mark.evans@nwas.nhs.uk

David McNally, david.mcnally@nwas.nhs.uk

Save a Life for Scotland

Lisa MacInnes, hello@savealife.scot | Website

Scottish Ambulance Service

Caroline Young, caroliney86@gmail.com

South Central Ambulance Service

Nicola Dunbar, nicola.dunbar@scas.nhs.uk

Leonie Latimer, leonie.latimer@scas.nhs.uk

South East Coast Ambulance Service

Dave Wells, dave.wells@secamb.nhs.uk

Sue Orchard, sue.orchard@secamb.nhs.uk

South West Ambulance Service

Amy Sainsbury, amy.sainsbury@swast.nhs.uk

Deanne Hill, deanne.hill@swast.nhs.uk

Welsh Ambulance Service

Fiona Maclean, fiona.maclean@wales.nhs.uk | Website

West Midlands Ambulance Service

Cliff Medlicott, cliff.medlicott@wmas.nhs.uk

Yorkshire Ambulance Service

Jason Carlyon, jason.carlyon@nhs.net

Louise Boyes, yas.restartaheart@nhs.net | Website

Why you should learn CPR

  • Cardiac arrest occurs when the heart stops pumping blood around the body, and causes a person to collapse and stop breathing normally. 
  • Survival rates from out of hospital cardiac arrest remain stubbornly low in the UK, with fewer than one in ten people surviving. If CPR were more widely taught, thousands of lives could be saved every year. (Resuscitation to Recovery
  • Around 80% of cardiac arrests happen in the home. As people are spending more time at home during COVID-19, that statistic may be higher at the moment. Learning CPR guarantees that you have the skills to help those around you, including in the home. 
  • RCUK’s amended COVID-19 bystander CPR guidance is based on the best available evidence and clinical advice and has sought to balance maximising the chances of survival with rescuer safety. To learn more about why we have updated our guidance, please read our statement.

Read their stories