Restart A Heart Day

RSAH 2020

Every October, hundreds of thousands of people across the UK – and many more worldwide – learn CPR as part of the Restart a Heart campaign.

The campaign is led in the UK by Resuscitation Council UK alongside our partners the British Heart Foundation, British Red Cross, St John Ambulance and Yorkshire Ambulance Service. Every UK Ambulance service joins in to ensure as many people as possible are trained in life-saving skills.

We lead this national training event because we know that if more people learn CPR, more lives could be saved. The campaign brings communities together, raising awareness of cardiac arrest and increasing the number of people trained in the UK.

In 2019, over 291,000 people learnt CPR as part of Restart a Heart. Let’s beat that in 2020.

Help us change lives in the UK by participating in Restart a Heart 2020. Here’s how you can get involved:

Schools

If you want to train people at your school, first contact your NHS ambulance service. Take a look at our map below to find out what your nearest ambulance service is, and how you can contact them.

You can also run your own independent event, if you are able to train people in CPR. If you are running an independent event, please fill out our short survey to let us know about your plans.

We’ve created a handy RSAH resource pack, especially for schools and youth groups. Click here to download.

Community groups, sports clubs and workplaces

As long as you’re training people in CPR, you have the freedom to be creative and come up with an engaging and exciting event for your community!

You can organise your own event at a place of your choice, and at a time around October 16 that suits you. Make sure your numbers are counted – tell us about your plans by completing our short survey.

Independent training providers

We welcome all CPR training providers to get involved with Restart a Heart, and hope you’ll help us train the nation in lifesaving CPR this October.

We have created a guide especially for independent training providers. Please download the guide here, and read our invitation to training providers here.

Make sure your numbers are counted – tell us about your training plans by completing our short survey.

Volunteers

If you’re not sure where your nearest event will be and you want to help out, contact your local NHS ambulance service to see if there are any sessions that need volunteers. Please take a look at our map below to find out what your nearest ambulance service is, and how you can contact them.

Image of people learning CPR inside a busy train station
During Restart a Heart 2019, commuters were taught CPR inside London Waterloo Station

 

Find your nearest Ambulance Service

Regional contacts

East Midlands Ambulance Service
James Hornby, james.hornby@emas.nhs.uk
East of England Ambulance Service
Andrew Barlow, andrew.barlow@eastamb.nhs.uk | Website
Guernsey - St John Ambulance Service
Jim Cathcart, jim.cathcart@stjohn.gg
Isle of Wight Ambulance Service
Louise Walker, ambulancetraining@iow.nhs.uk
London Ambulance Service
Chris Hartley-Sharpe, restartaheart@londonambulance.nhs.uk
Tracy Castle, tracy.castle@lond-amb.nhs.uk
Jersey Ambulance Service
Janet Davison, ja.davison@health.gov.je
Northern Ireland Ambulance Service
Stephanie Leckey, stephanie.leckey@nias.hscni.net
Jacqueline O'Neill, jaqueline.o'neill@nias.hscni.net
North East Ambulance Service
Alex Mason, alexandra.mason@neas.nhs.uk
North West Ambulance Service
Mark Evans, mark.evans@nwas.nhs.uk
David McNally, david.mcnally@nwas.nhs.uk
Save a Life for Scotland
Lisa MacInnes, hello@savealife.scot | Website
South Central Ambulance Service
Nic Dunbar, nicola.dunbar@scas.nhs.uk, rah@scas.nhs.net
South East Coast Ambulance Service
Greg Smith, greg.smith@secamb.nhs.uk
South West Ambulance Service
Sharifa Hashem, sharifa.hashem@swast.nhs.uk
Welsh Ambulance Service
Fiona Maclean, fiona.maclean@wales.nhs.uk | Website
West Midlands Ambulance Service
Cliff Medlicott, cliff.medlicott@wmas.nhs.uk
Yorkshire Ambulance Service
Louise Boyes, yas.restartaheart@nhs.net | Website