Where in the UK has adopted the ReSPECT process?

A young woman with short brown hair holding the arm of a smiling older woman who is in a wheelchair in a bright blue shirt

ReSPECT is a process that creates personalised recommendations for a person’s clinical care and treatment if there's an emergency in the future that would leave them unable to discuss what's important to them.

Through conversations between a person, their family or legal representative, and their healthcare professionals, we can create recommendations for emergency care and treatment based on what really matters to that person, and what is realistic about the care available.  

Many parts of England and Scotland have now adopted the ReSPECT process. You can read through the data below to find out whether or not it's been adopted where you live. Northern Ireland and Wales are yet to adopt ReSPECT.

Find out more about ReSPECT

This page was last updated August 2023.

North West 

  • No adoption due to alternative processes (except in Manchester and Salford).

North East

  • No adoption

Yorkshire and Humber 

Barnsley Adopted
Bradford Adopted 
Doncaster Adopted 
East Riding of Yorkshire Adopted
Hull Adopted 
Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield Adopted 
Leeds Adopted 
North East Lincolnshire Adopted 
North Lincolnshire Adopted 
North Yorkshire Adopted
Rotherham Adopted
Sheffield Adopted 
York Adopted


East Midlands areas 

Lincolnshire Adopted
Northamptonshire Working towards adoption
Derbyshire Adopted 
Nottinghamshire Adopted
Leicester Adopted 
Leicestershire Adopted 
Rutland Adopted 
Derby Adopted 


West Midlands areas

Birmingham Adopted
Coventry Adopted 
Dudley Adopted 
Sandwell Working towards adoption
Solihull Adopted 
Walsall Adopted 
Wolverhampton Adopted 
Herefordshire Adopted 
Shropshire Adopted 
Staffordshire Adopted
Stoke-on-Trent Adopted
Telford Adopted 
Wrekin Adopted
Warwickshire Adopted
Worcestershire Adopted


South East England areas

Buckinghamshire Unknown
East Sussex Adopted 
Hampshire Adopted 
Isle of Wight Not adopted
Kent and Medway Adopted 
Oxfordshire Not adopted
West Sussex Working towards adoption
Brighton and Hove Adopted
Bracknell Forest Adopted 
Milton Keynes Not adopted
Portsmouth Not adopted
Reading Adopted 
Slough Not adopted
Southampton Not adopted
Surrey Adopted
West Berkshire Adopted
Windsor Not adopted
Maidenhead Not adopted
Wokingham Adopted

East of England areas

Bedford Adopted
Cambridgeshire Adopted 
Central Bedfordshire  Working towards adoption
Essex Working towards adoption
East and North Hertfordshire Adopted 
West Hertfordshire Not Adopted
Luton Working towards adoption
Norfolk Adopted 
Peterborough Adopted 
Suffolk Partially Adopted 


South West England areas

Bristol Adopted
Cornwall Not adopted
Dorset Adopted 
Devon Not adopted
Gloucestershire Adopted 
Bath and Northeast Somerset Adopted 
Torbay and Wiltshire Adopted 
Somerset Not adopted 
Plymouth Not adopted
Swindon Adopted
Christchurch and Poole Not adopted 
North Somerset Adopted
South Gloucestershire Adopted
Isle of Scilly Not Adopted



  • No adoption
NHS Dumfries and Galloway Adopted
NHS Forth Valley Adopted 
NHS Lanarkshire Adopted 
NHS Tayside Adopted
NHS Western Isles Adopted 
NHS Ayrshire and Aran Adopted
NHS Grampian Considering adoption
NHS Orkney  Adopted
NHS Shetland Adopted
NHS Fife Considering adoption
NHS Highland Considering adoption
NHS Borders Not adopted
NHS Lothian Not adopted
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Not adopted

No adoption

Working towards adoption